ICC ODI World Cup Qualifiers set to kick off on June 18

The battle for the remaining two spots in the 2023 ICC ODI World Cup is set to commence on June 18 with the start of the World Cup qualifiers in Zimbabwe. Ten teams, including West Indies, Sri Lanka, the tournament hosts Zimbabwe, as well as Nepal, Ireland, Scotland, Oman, United Arab Emirates, Netherlands, and the United States of America, will compete in the qualifiers. The tournament will take place across three venues: Harare Sports Club, Queens Sports Club, and Takashinga Cricket Club.

The teams have been divided into two groups of five, with the top three teams from each group advancing to the Super Six stage. In this round, the teams that progress will carry over their points from matches against fellow qualified sides. The top two teams from the Super Six stage will secure qualification for the 2023 World Cup and proceed to the final.


This edition of the qualifiers is expected to generate significant attention due to the presence of four full member nations. The inclusion of former World Cup champions Sri Lanka and West Indies, along with competitive teams like Ireland, adds to the excitement of the tournament. Zimbabwe, as the host nation, will benefit from strong local support. ICC Chief Executive Geoff Allardice expressed enthusiasm about the event, acknowledging its significance in the lead-up to the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023.

“The countdown to the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 is entering the final stages, and this event presents an incredible opportunity for teams to earn a place in the pinnacle event of one-day cricket,” Allardice stated. He emphasized the competitiveness of the tournament, with teams vying for a chance to join the eight teams that have already secured their spots in India.

Featuring teams from Africa, the Americas, Asia, and Europe, the World Cup qualifiers showcase the global reach and diversity of the sport. It promises to be an exciting platform for both established cricketing nations and emerging cricket nations seeking their maiden qualification.

Group A consists of West Indies, Zimbabwe, Nepal, Netherlands, and the United States of America, while Group B includes Sri Lanka, Ireland, Scotland, Oman, and the United Arab Emirates. The final match of the qualifiers will take place on July 9 at the Harare Sports Club, where the two top-performing teams will battle for the coveted World Cup qualification.