ICC announces match officials for ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has unveiled the roster of 20 match officials set to oversee the League Round of the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 in India. This 13th edition of the tournament will see 16 umpires in action, featuring all 12 members of the Emirates Elite Panel of ICC Umpires and four officials from the ICC Emerging Umpire Panel.

Among the experienced umpires on the list are three who officiated the World Cup 2019 final at Lord’s: Kumar Dharmasena, Marais Erasmus, and Rod Tucker. Notably, Aleem Dar, the fourth umpire from that final, has stepped down from the Elite Panel as of March 2023.


The Emirates ICC Elite Panel of Match Referees will be represented by four former international cricketers: Jeff Crowe, Andy Pycroft, Richie Richardson, and Javagal Srinath. Srinath, in particular, will officiate the opening match of the tournament, which will feature England and New Zealand on October 5 in Ahmedabad. Nitin Menon and Kumar Dharmasena will serve as standing umpires, while Paul Wilson will be the TV umpire, and Saikat will fulfill the role of the fourth umpire.

These match officials have been appointed for the entire League segment of the tournament. The selections for the semi-finals and final of the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 will be announced in due course.

The complete list of match officials includes:

Umpires: Chris Brown, Kumar Dharmasena, Marais Erasmus, Chris Gaffaney, Michael Gough, Adrian Holdstock, Richard Illingworth, Richard Kettleborough, Nitin Menon, Ahsan Raza, Paul Reiffel, Sharfuddoula Ibne Shaid, Rod Tucker, Alex Wharf, Joel Wilson, and Paul Wilson.
Referees: Jeff Crowe, Andy Pycroft, Richie Richardson, and Javagal Srinath.