CPL semi final 2020: Trinbago Knight Riders booked their place in the Finals by defeating Jamaica Tallawahs by 9 wickets

A top-order collapse of Jamaica Tallawahs saw them post a total of 107 in their quota of 20 overs which was comfortably chased by Trinbago Knight Riders in 15 overs

Trinbago Knight Riders booked their place in the Finals (1st v 4th) of the Caribbean Premier League against the Jamaica Tallawahs by 9 wickets. Trinbago Knight Riders won the toss and elected to bowl against Tallawahs.

Jamaica Tallawahs only managed to score a total of 107 with the loss of 7 wickets. West Indies all-rounder Nkrumah Bonner was the highest scorer, scoring 41 runs smashing 5 boundaries post a top-order collapse. He was supported by a 35 ball 33 by Jamaican batsmen Rovman Powell.


All-rounder Akeal Hosein was the pick of the bowlers, by scalping 3 wickets at an economy of 3.5. Left-arm spinner Khary Pierre took 2 wickets with Sunil Narine and Fawad Ahmed scalping a wicket each.

In response, Trinbago Knight Riders looked at ease as they comfortably chased the target with 5 overs to spare. Dashing opener Lendl Simmons top-scored with a quickfire half-century along with Tion Webster contributing with a valuable 44. Mujeeb Ur Rahman of Jamaica Tallawahs appeared the only threat to the Trinbago Knight Riders batsman by scalping a wicket at an economy of 6. His efforts went in vain as the opposition batsman outplayed the rest of the bowlers.

This win saw the 2 times CPL champions make this a perfect 11 by winning all their 11 matches. Left-arm spinner Akeal Hosein was adjudged the man of the match. This one-sided hammering saw the Knight Riders book their place in the finals and are well on course to win the 3rd tittle.

The second semi-final will see Guyana Amazon Warriors battle St Lucia Zouks to book their place in the finals against Trinbago Knight Riders.