BCCI includes Rishi Dhawan as a replacement for injured Navdeep Saini

BCCI recently updated squad updates for India A as well as the India vs Australia series. As reported earlier Mohammed Shami will be excluded from the Australian series as he tested positive for COVID-19.

It has also been clear that Umesh Yadav will be replacing Mohammed Shami, and has now been officially confirmed by BCCI.


India squad for Australia series: Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (vice-captain), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Dinesh Karthik (wicket-keeper), Hardik Pandya, R. Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Deepak Chahar, Jasprit Bumrah, Umesh Yadav.

On the first day of the Duleep Trophy semifinal game between North Zone and South Zone, Navdeep Saini suffered a right groin injury. Both the current competition and the following three-match one-day series between India A and New Zealand A are off limits to him. Saini will now travel to the NCA to receive more treatment for his injuries.

Rishi Dhawan has been selected by the All-India Senior Selection Committee to take Saini’s place on the India A team.

India A squad: Prithvi Shaw, Abhimanyu Easwaran, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Rahul Tripathi, Rajat Patidar, Sanju Samson (Captain), KS Bharat (wicket-keeper), Kuldeep Yadav, Shabhaz Ahmed, Rahul Chahar, Tilak Varma, Kuldeep Sen, Shardul Thakur, Umran Malik, Rishi Dhawan, Raj Angad Bawa.