BCCI Announces Squad for South Africa Tour; Makes a Bold Move

Ajit Agarkar led BCCI selection panel has left out Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli from limited overs series in South Africa. Surya Kumar Yadav and KL Rahul will captain T20I and ODI, respective, while Rohit will continue to lead the team in test cricket.

Indian cricket team has decided to move ahead without Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli in limited-overs cricket. BCCI announced the squad for the South Africa series which missed big names like Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli from the limited overs cricket. According to the information shared by the BCCI, KL Rahul will lead the ODI side while Suryakumar Yadav will lead the t20I team, which has featured mainly youngsters. The road for Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma looks dicey, as of now.

The T20I cricket world cup is on the radar of BCCI. Rohit Sharma captained the Indian cricket team in the 50-overs World Cup in India. The team overshadowed dominant sides like Australia, South Africa, and New Zealand before reaching the finals and losing to Australia. Presently, Indian cricket is undergoing a major transformation where the likes of Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Rinku Singh, and Yashaswi Jaiswal are frontrunners in cementing their place in limited-overs cricket.


India’s squad for 3 T20Is vs South Africa: Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shubman Gill, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Tilak Varma, Suryakumar Yadav (C), Rinku Singh, Shreyas Iyer, Ishan Kishan (wk), Jitesh Sharma (wk), Ravindra Jadeja (VC), Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav, Arshdeep Singh, Mohd. Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Deepak Chahar.

India’s squad for 3 ODIs vs South Africa: Ruturaj Gaikwad, Sai Sudharsan, Tilak Varma, Rajat Patidar, Rinku Singh, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (C)(wk), Sanju Samson (wk), Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Mukesh Kumar, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Deepak Chahar.

India’s squad for 2 Tests vs South Africa: Rohit Sharma (C), Shubman Gill, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ishan Kishan (wk), KL Rahul (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Mohd. Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Mohd. Shami*, Jasprit Bumrah (VC), Prasidh Krishna.