Bangladesh makes surprising changes for the T20 World Cup squad following the exit from Asia Cup

Bangladesh announced their squad for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 in Australia.

Mahmud Ullah, the former captain, will not be participating in the T20 World Cup in 2022 having Shakib Al Hasan leading the team. Bangladesh made significant adjustments from the team that lost in the Asia Cup elimination round.


All four members of the Asia Cup team—Parvez Hossain Emon, Anamul Haque, Mahedi Hasan, and Mohammad Naim—miss the flight to Australia. The Tigers will also be without the assistance of Mahmud Ullah and Mushfiqur Rahim, two of their veteran middle-order hitters who left the format following the Asia Cup.

Litton Das, Yasir Ali, Nurul Hasan, Hasan Mahmud, and Najmul Hossain Shanto have all been called back for Bangladesh, who have advanced to the last 15 despite not playing in the Asia Cup.

Das missed the Asia Cup because of a hamstring injury he sustained while on the Zimbabwe tour. He has fully recovered, just like Nurul who had to have surgery for a finger injury.

Last year’s T20 World Cup team members Soumya Sarkar and Shoriful Islam are only named on the standby list along with Rishad Hossain and Shak Mahedi Hasan.

Squad: Shakib Al Hasan (captain), Sabbir Rahman, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Afif Hossain, Mossadek Hossain, Litton Das, Yasir Ali, Nurul Hasan, Mustafizur Rahman, Saifuddin, Taskin Ahmed, Ebadot Hossain, Hasan Mahmud, Najmul Hossain, Nasum Ahmed.

Standby: Soumya Sarkar, Shoriful Islam, Rishad Hossain, Shak Mahedi Hasan.