Australia’s T20 World Cup Champions Gear Up for Series Opener Against India

The spotlight turns to the T20 World Cup 2024 as reigning champions Australia prepare to face India in the first T20I in Vishakapatnam on November 23. With regular skipper Mitchell Marsh taking a rest for the five matches, Matthew Wade steps into the leadership role. Alongside Marsh, Australia has opted to rest key players Pat Cummins, Josh Hazlewood, and Mitchell Starc. In Marsh’s absence, Jason Behrendorff will spearhead the pace attack, and Tim David is set to play a pivotal role as a finisher.

Behrendorff will find support from Nathan Ellis, Tanveer Sangha, Sean Abbott, and Adam Zampa in the pace department. Despite a slightly inexperienced pace attack, Australia boasts significant firepower. The batting lineup appears formidable, featuring the seasoned David Warner and Steve Smith at the top, with Smith likely to open alongside Warner.


The middle order maintains its strength with the inclusion of Maxwell, Stoinis, and Wade. Zampa is expected to lead the spin attack, complemented by Tanveer Sangha.

Anticipating the first T20I, Australia’s playing XI holds the prospect of Warner and Smith opening the innings, possibly with Matthew Wade as an alternative opening partner to Warner. In the absence of Mitchell Marsh, alternatives like Josh Inglis and Matthew Short are available for the number three spot. The middle order features the likes of Maxwell, Stoinis, and Tim David.

In the bowling department, T20 specialists Sean Abbott and Behrendorff are set to form a formidable partnership, with Nathan Ellis likely as the third pacer. The spin options include Zampa and Sangha, offering flexibility based on playing conditions.

Australia’s T20 squad for the India series includes Matthew Wade (capt), David Warner, Travis Head, Steven Smith, Glenn Maxwell, Matt Short, Marcus Stoinis, Tim David, Josh Inglis, Jason Behrendorff, Sean Abbott, Nathan Ellis, Spencer Johnson, Adam Zampa, and Tanveer Sangha.