Australia reveals initial squad for ODI World Cup with notable inclusions and exclusions

Australia has unveiled its preliminary 18-man squad for the upcoming ODI World Cup, introducing fresh faces and making some surprising omissions. While emerging talents like Aaron Hardie, Tanveer Sangha, and Nathan Ellis secured spots, Marnus Labuschagne’s absence raised eyebrows.

ODI Squad: Pat Cummins (C), Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Nathan Ellis, Cameron Green, Aaron Hardie, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Tanveer Sangha, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, David Warner, Adam Zampa


The selected squad, led by captain Pat Cummins, will participate in a series of ODIs in South Africa and India as part of their World Cup preparation. Glenn Maxwell will miss the South Africa ODI series due to family leave, but skipper Cummins, who sustained a wrist injury, will join the squad in South Africa to gear up for the India tour. The squad includes an alternate lineup for the T20I series against South Africa, led by Mitchell Marsh.

T20I squad: Mitchell Marsh (C), Sean Abbott, Jason Behrendorff, Tim David, Nathan Ellis, Aaron Hardie, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Spencer Johnson, Glenn Maxwell, Matt Short, Steve Smith, Marcus Stoinis, Adam Zampa