Asia Cup Live: Ebadot Hossain of Bangladesh and Asitha Fernando of Sri Lanka to debut tonight


When Sri Lanka’s captain Dasun Shanaka won the toss against Bangladesh in the last Asia Cup Group B match, he elected to field first. After Afghanistan easily defeated Bangladesh and Sri Lanka, both teams are in a knockout situation. Afghanistan has advanced to the Super 4s, where they will be joined by the winner of tonight’s game in Dubai.

In a clean seamer-for-seamer swap, Asitha Fernando replaces Matheesha Pathirana to make his T20I debut for Sri Lanka. Mohammad Saifuddin, Anamul Haque, and both of Bangladesh’s openers Mohammad Naim were dropped. They have added Sabbir Rahman and Mehidy Hasan Miraz in addition to giving Ebadot Hossain his debut in the shortest format.