After Deepak Chahar, this batsman has also been ruled out of upcoming T20 series against Sri Lanka

Virat Kohli, Shardul Thakur, and Rishabh Pant rested for the T20 series against Sri Lanka


Team India has suffered another massive blow ahead of the three-match T20 series against Sri Lanka. After all-rounder, Deepak Chahar was ruled out of the series due to an injury on the right quadriceps, India’s finest batsman Surya Kumar Yadav will also have to miss the series due to a hairline fracture in his hand. Yadav incurred the fracture during the final T20 against West Indies during a fielding attempt. 

An official statement from BCCI informing about the players’ injury also stated that Surya Kumar Yadav and Deepak Chahar will now head to the National Cricket Academy in Bengaluru for further management of their injuries. 

Yadav was the second-highest run-scorer in the recent T20 series against West Indies. He was also awarded as man of the series for his magnificent performance. He scored 107 runs in the series, which includes a crucial 65 runs inning in the final match in Kolkata. 

On Tuesday, Zee news spotted Yadav at India’s practice session in Lucknow, but BCCI later confirmed his injury in an official statement. BCCI also stated officially on their site regarding Chahar’s replacement, “The team has sought no replacement as vice-captain Jasprit Bumrah is already in the side.”

India will face Sri Lanka in three T20s and two Tests. The first match will go down in Lucknow. India’s former captain Virat Kohli, Shardul Thakur, and Rishabh Pant have been rested from the series.

India’s T20 squad for the Sri Lanka series: Rohit Sharma (Captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shreyas Iyer, Sanju Samson, Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Venkatesh Iyer, Deepak Hooda, Ravindra Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohd. Siraj, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Jasprit Bumrah (vice-captain), Avesh Khan.


Subscribe to our newsletter
Subscribe to our newsletter
Sign up here to get the latest news delivered directly to your inbox.
You can unsubscribe at any time