AFG vs IRE: Afghanistan announce squad for their first tour since pandemic

Afghanistan will be playing their first series since the pandemic hit the globe starting 18 January. They will be playing against Ireland on a neutral venue which will be UAE.

The Afghanistan Cricket Board has announced the squad for the tour as they wait for the visas to be approved by the UAE officials. Ireland has already announced their squad and reached UAE.

The Afghani squad include Asghar Afghan, Rahmat Shah, Nawin-Ul-Haq, Hashmat Shahidi, Yamin Ahmadzai, Osman Ghani, Azmatullah Omarzai, Rahmanullah Gurboz, Sayed Ahmad Shirzad, Najib Zadran, Jawed Ahmadi, Rashid Khan, Mohammad Nabi, Gulbuddin Naib, Mujib Rahman and Sharafuddin Ashraf.

Some of the players in this squad are currently in Australia participating in the BBL. They are expected to join the team before leaving. ACB in their official statement has confirmed that the team had been practicing and are prepared for the tour. They also have said that the team couldn’t practice for the past few days due to the bad weather in Afghanistan.

The tour will begin on 18 January with the first ODI being played at the Sheikh Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi.

You might also like