Travellers from 5 states including Kerala, Maharashtra need COVID-19 negative report to enter Delhi

As a boom in cases of Coronavirus is noted in a few states in India, the Delhi government has issued new protocol for saying, “Travellers from five states including Kerala, Maharashtra, Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh and Punjab will have to show a COVID-19 negative report to enter Delhi from 26th February to 15th March.

According to PTI, the issue was discussed in a meeting of the Delhi Disaster Management Authority (DDMA) on Monday. The rule is applicable to all the passengers coming to Delhi by trains, flights or buses. The decision came after 86% of new coronavirus cases emerged from these five states only.


Maharashtra on Sunday announced a state wide ban on social, political and religious gatherings, besides imposing fresh local lockdowns or curbs in districts like Pune and Amravati.

Punjab has also been asked by the central government to refocus on strict surveillance, containment and RT-PCR testing to check the growing number of cases. As a result, Chief Minister Captain Amarinder Singh ordered restrictions on indoor and outdoor gatherings. As per the order, indoor gatherings can’t comprise more than 100 people while in the case of outdoor gatherings, this number has been fixed at 200. This order will come into effect from 1st March, 2021.

Mizoram also requires a negative COVID-19 report from all passengers. In Odisha, all passengers above the age of 55 years need to present a rapid antigen test on arrival in the state.