UP Congress changes 29 district chiefs just before assembly polls

Congress president Ajay Kumar Lallu on Thursday changed 29 district chiefs.

Apprehending revolt by over two dozen Congress district and city chiefs, who were denied tickets for the Assembly polls in Uttar Pradesh, state Congress president Ajay Kumar Lallu on Thursday changed 29 district chiefs.

Surprisingly the changes were made even when the process of polls is already on and is likely to hit the Party’s campaign trail. Congress Committee spokesperson Ashok Singh on Thursday confirmed that on the recommendation of the All India Congress Committee, working presidents of District/City Congress Committees have been appointed in many districts of Uttar Pradesh with immediate effect.


In the letter issued by the party on Thursday, it has been said that the working presidents of the District / City Congress Committee of the respective districts are expected to join immediately and faithfully discharge the responsibilities assigned to them in the interest of the organization. The new working president announced on Thursday included Sanjay Srivastava (Lucknow South), Harikishan Bharta (Kanpur South), Kripashankar Tripathi, (Kanpur South), Dileep Kumar Singh Munna (Kanpur Dehat), Ramesh Rajbhar (Azamgarh, Rajesh Singh Gautam (Varanasi), Jaideep Tripathi (Deoria), Farid Ahmed (Sonbhadra), Misbahul (Kaushambi), Yusuf Malik (Pilibhit), Pawan Singh (Shahjahanpur), Lal Saheb Yadav (Ghazipur), Yousuf Farooqui (Unnao), Kartik Kaushik (Ghaziabad), Yogesh Sharma (Baghpat), Prashant Tripathi (Amethi), Gopal Kulshrestha (Mainpuri), Tej Bahadur Pathak (Sultanpur), Ram Singh Verma ‘Pasi’ (Hardoi), Amarjeet Singh (Gonda), Brijraj Singh (Mahoba), Deepchand Jain (Mirzapur), Shivpujan Pandey (Ayodhya), Dipak Bajpayee (Lakhimpur Kheri), Vyas Ojha (Kushinagar), Ashraf Ansari (Sambhal), Riyaz Ahmed Monu (Lakhimpur Kheri), Shiv Kumar gautam (Sambhal) and Sham Mohamed Khan (Shahjahanpur).

Subscribe to our newsletter
Subscribe to our newsletter
Sign up here to get the latest news delivered directly to your inbox.
You can unsubscribe at any time