Maharashtra Cabinet expansion: 18 ministers take oath to Eknath Shinde’s council of ministers

Expansion of the state Cabinet is taking place at the Raj Bhavan with 18 ministers taking oath — nine from the BJP and nine from the Shiv Sena.


The much-anticipated expansion of the Maharashtra Cabinet is taking place today. After more than five weeks of the new government formation in the state, which was sworn in on June 30. In the first phase of the expansion, 18 ministers are to be dispensed the oath of office.

Maharashtra Chief Minister Eknath Shinde on Tuesday morning joined the Shiv Sena legislators backing him at the Sahyadri guest house in south Mumbai. CM Eknath Shinde met legislators to relieve those who will not be sworn in today. He announced the name of the legislators to be sworn today after the meeting.

The ministers taking oath today include BJP state president Chandrakant Patil, Radhakrishna Vikhe Patil, Sudhir Mungantiwar, Suresh Khade, Girish Mahajan, Ravindra Chavhan, Mangal Prabhat Lodha, Vijaykumar Gavit and Atul Save. From the Shiv Sena, Abdul Sattar, Tanaji Sawant, Deepak Kesarkar, Suhas Kande, Gulabrao Patil, Dada Bhuse, Uday Samant, Sanjay Rauthud, and Bharat Gogawale are to be sworn in.


A second round of expansion will be held in two-three weeks, a senior leader of the Shinde camp told The Indian Express in a conversation. The expansion came after opposition has been firing on the Shinde-Fadnavis government over the delay in the cabinet expansion. “It’s the 40th day of the new government but the cabinet has just two members – Shinde and Fadnavis”, alleged Sena.

Shinde is supported by 40 of the 55 Shiv Sena MLAs.