TDP’s C Ayyannapatrudu set to be unanimously elected as Andhra Pradesh Assembly Speaker

TDP’s Narsipatnam MLA C Ayyannapatrudu is expected to be elected unanimously as the Speaker of the 16th Andhra Pradesh Legislative Assembly on Saturday. This comes as no other MLA filed a nomination to contest against him for the prestigious post.

PPK Ramacharyulu, the secretary general of the Legislative Assembly, confirmed that only three nominations were received for the Speaker’s position, all on behalf of Ayyannapatrudu. This ensures that his election is a mere formality.


Today marks the second day of the inaugural session of the 16th Legislative Assembly, which commenced at 10.30 am. However, YSRCP chief YS Jagan Mohan Reddy is unlikely to attend the proceedings as he has scheduled a visit to Kadapa district. According to an opposition party statement, the former CM plans to spend the next three days in Pulivendula.