PM Modi oath ceremony: Narendra Modi creates history by swearing in for third term as Prime Minister of India

Narendra Modi, the leader of Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has taken oath as India’s Prime Minister for a third time.

The ceremony took place at Rashtrapati Bhavan, the official residence of Indian president.


BJP- led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) won the recent general election with 293 seats, a margin lower than what was predicted by exit polls.

Thousands of guests have been attending his inauguration at Delhi’s Presidential Palace. Among them are the heads of the countries – Bangladesh, Nepal, Sri Lanka, and Maldives.

During the ceremony, President Draupadi Murmu has also been swearing in a council of ministers of Modi’s new cabinet.

Contrary to exit polls predictions, which forecasted outright victory, Modi’s BJP lost its parliamentary majority in the election, after enjoying it for a decade.