Modi 3.0 cabinet: NDA allies to get 12 berths in cabinet: A look at probable ministers

Narendra Modi is set to take oath for the third time as Prime Minister of India today at 7.15 pm. At least 30 ministers in Modi 3.0 are expected to take oath alongside the PM today, though more ministers will be inducted in the coming days. The number of ministers in the new Union Government is expected to be between 78 to 81.

While the top ministries in Modi 3.0 will go to Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), which has emerged as single largest party with 240 seats, at least 12 ministers from the key allies from National Democratic Alliance (NDA), who helped BJP cross 272 majority mark, are also expected to take oath today. Chandrababu Naidu’s Telugu Desam Party with 16 parliamentarians and Nitish Kumar’s JD(U) with 12 MPs, have emerged as second and third largest party in the alliance, respectively.


The Telugu Desam Party (TDP)

TDP leader Jayadev Galla said hours before swearing-in that TDP leaders Ram Mohan Naidu, 36, and Chandra Sekhar Premmasani, 48, would be a part of PM Modi led Union council of ministers.

Janata Dal (United) JD(U)

Among those who will take oath as minister today include 69-year-old Lalan Singh, the four time MP, whose real name is Rajeev Ranjan Singh. He was former JD(U) president and is one of the closest aide of Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar.

Ram Nath Thakur, son of Kapoori Thakur, is also expected to make it to the cabinet. He is the member of Rajya Sabha and has also been a member of Bihar Legislative Council

Chirag Paswan (LJP)

Lok Janshakti Party’s Chirag Paswan won five seats from Bihar and is the son of former Union Minister and founder of LJP Ram Vilas Paswan.

Anupriya Patel’s Apna Dal

Former Union Minister Anupriya Patel is President of Apna Dal (Soneylal) party since 2016. Representing Mirzapur seat of Uttar Pradesh in the Lok Sabha since 2014.

Other Allies

Son of former Prime Minister HD Deve Gowda, Janata Dal Secular leader HD Kumaraswamy has also been the chief minister of Karnataka. He is also expected to take oath as one of the union ministers.