Karnataka Assembly election, 2023 results: Key highlights | Business Upturn

Karnataka Assembly election, 2023 results: Key highlights

BJP lost its lone southern stronghold in Karnataka Assembly elections. Congress won Karnataka.


Karnataka Assembly results are out and BJP has lost its only fortress in the south. The Congress in Karnataka secured a clear majority. 

Congress secured a total of 136 seats out of the 224 seats, to form a majority it required 113 seats, while the BJP secured 65 seats, which is a big fall from 2018’s 106 seats. 

The Karnataka state has 30 districts geographically which are clubbed into six regions on the basis of historical similarities. The regions are Hyderabad Karnataka, Mumbai Karnataka, Central Karnataka, Coastal Karnataka, Southern Karnataka, and Bengaluru Karnataka. 



In the Shiggaon constituency of the Haveri district, the redoubt of the incumbent Chief Minister Basvaraj Bommai, where he was contesting for a fourth consecutive term against Congress’s Yasir Ahmed Khan Pathan and Sashidhar Yaligar of the JD(S). The district of Central Karnataka remained a fortress Bommai, where he secured 54.95% votes.



The constituency of the Mysore district lying in the Southern Karnataka region also witnessed a key battle between Congress stout and former Chief Minister of the state Siddaramaiah and BJP’s Housing Minister V Somanna and Dr. Bharathi Shankar of the JD(S). Siddaramaiah emerged victorious in Varuna with a huge margin.


The Hubbali-Dharwad-Central seat was another hot one. BJP defector and former CHeif Minister Jagdish Shettar resigned from BJP, and joined Congress, when the party denied him the ticket for contesting in the elections against BJP’s Mahesh Tenginakai. Tenginakai defeated Shettar by a margin of over 34,000 votes. 


The town of Toys was engaged in a fight between former Chief Minister and JD(S) candidate H.D. Kumaraswamy and former Minister and BJP candidate C.P. Yogeshwar. Kumaraswamy emerged victorious in Channapatna by a margin of over 15,000 votes. 


Another key battle between BJP’s B.Y. Vijayendra, son of former CM BS Yediyurappa, Congress rebel and independent candidate S P Nagarajagowda and Congress’s Goni Malatesha. On his electoral debut, Vijayendra secured Shikaripura and won by 11,008 votes.