BJP to contest all 117 seats in 2022 Punjab Assembly Polls

Party General Secretary Tarun Chugh announced that the Bharatiya Janata Party will contest all 117 Assembly constituencies in the 2022 state polls independently. BJP’s long-term ally in Punjab Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) had broken away from the NDA over the controversial farm laws.

Tarun Chugh said that the party is preparing its organization on a war footing contest on all seats in the next Punjab Assembly Polls. He said, “BJP is strengthening its organization on a war footing to contest all 117 Assembly seats in Punjab.”


On November 19, the party President of BJP, Jagat Prakash Nadda will virtually inaugurate 10 district offices of the party.

In September, SAD went against the NDA over three agriculture sector reform enacted – Farmer Produce Trade and Commerce Act, 2020, The Farmer Agreement on Price Assurance and Farm Service Act, 2020, and The Essential Commodities Act, 2020. Consequently, SAD MP Harsimrat Kaur Badal also resigned from the Union cabinet.

BJP alliance with SAD in Punjab dates back to 1992. Out of the 13 Lok Sabha seats in Punjab, SAD used to field candidates in 10 constituencies and the BJP on three.

In 2017 Assembly polls, Congress won a landslide majority in the state by capturing 77 seats and threw the SAD-BJP government after a decade.

The SAD-BJP performed poorly in the 2019 Lok Sabha polls by winning 2 seats each. In contrast to Congress winning 8 seats in Punjab.