Bengal Elections 2021: “I’m not worried about Nandigram, I’m worried about democracy,” says Mamata Banerjee on polling day

Bengal CM Mamata Banerjee also blamed Election Commission for favouring BJP.

While holding a major roadshow in Nandigram on Thursday, April 1, the West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee was spotted sitting on a wheel-chair outside the polling booth and the TMC acquitted the central forces of interrupting the voters from casting their votes in the second phase of assembly elections.

CM Mamata, who is competing against Suvendu Adhikari from BJP, accused BJP of discomfiting their voters. She said, “We have already lodged 63 complaints with Election Commission. I am not worried about Nandigram, but I am worried about democracy. I will win Nandigram with the blessings of ‘Maa Maati Manush’.”


Bengal CM Banerjee also blamed Election Commission for favouring BJP. She said, “Whatever you (Election Commission) try, BJP will not win. In Nandigram, 90% of the votes will to TMC. I apologise to my Election Commission for their silence. We have given so many letters but they are one-sidedly supporting BJP candidates,” as quoted by news agency ANI.

As the West Bengal CM Mamata Banerjee was sitting near the polling booth, BJP and TMC leaders gathered in large numbers on a ground near the school and raised slogans against each other. Meanwhile, the officials of Rapid Action Force (RAF), were seen making efforts to curb the situation.

Well, the Bengal CM also raised questions on Prime Minister Narendra Modi and accused him for violating the model code of conduct. She asked, “Why Narendra Modi comes to Bengal on every polling day? Why will he campaign on election day? If we can’t campaign in election areas then why he addresses the people with all facilities including Doordarshan on polling day? Isn’t it a violation of model code of conduct?,” as quoted by ANI.

Bengal legislative assembly elections for 294 seats are scheduled to be held between 27th March to 29th April 2021 in 8 phases. The results for the same will be announced on 2nd May 2021.