349 candidates for UP block panchayat chief polls elected unopposed

The voting for Uttar Pradesh’s block panchayat chiefs has begun at 11 pm and will end at 3 pm.

On July 9, the Uttar Pradesh Election Commission announced that a total of 349 candidates for the state’s block panchayat polls have elected unopposed on the final day for the withdrawal of nomination papers.

After the declaration, one of Bharatiya Janata Party’s office-bearers claimed that 334 of the winning candidates belonged to the ruling party.


BJP’s State Unit President Swatantra Dev Singh said in a statement that under the leadership of Uttar Pradesh’s Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath, a state of development and good governance has been created through the elimination of casteism as well as corruption.

Meanwhile, opposition parties like Samajwadi Party, Bahujan Samaj Party, and INC have accused the BJP of the destruction of democracy in the kshetra panchayat chiefs’ elections as well as abusing its power and official machinery. They have also criticized its alleged disrespect towards women in the election process.

Manoj Kumar, the State Election Commissioner stated that 1,778 nomination papers were received for 825 posts of the block panchayat chief, of which 68 were canceled along with 187 getting withdrawn. Hence, 1,710 candidates will be entering the elections conducted on Saturday.

According to the State Election Commission, on July 10, voting for 476 posts of Uttar Pradesh’s block panchayat chiefs commenced at 11 am. The voting is set to end at 3 pm where the vote count will begin right after that.