Neeraj Chopra, Cyrus Poonawalla & Late CDS Bipin Rawat among Padma awardees

According to the Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA), the President approved the conferment of 128 Padma Awards.

The Ministry of Home Affairs has today announced the list of Padma awards recipients. Late General Bipin Rawat & former CM of Uttar Pradesh Kalyan Singh has been conferred posthumously India’s second-highest civilian award, the Padma Vibhushan.

Key names from Big Tech, including Microsoft CEO Satya Nadella and Alphabet and Google CEO Sundar Pichai, were named as Padma Bhushan recipients, according to the Padma awards list issued by the government.

Below are the names of Padma awards recipients: 

  • Padma Vibhushan: Kalyan Singh, former chief minister of Uttar Pradesh (posthumous); General Bipin Rawat, India’s first chief of defence staff (posthumous)
  • Padma Bhushan: Congress leader Ghulam Nabi Azad, former West Bengal chief minister Buddhadeb Bhattacharjee, Covaxin maker Bharat Biotech’s chairman Krishna Ella and his co-founder wife Suchitra Ella, Serum Institute of India (SII) managing director Cyrus Poonawalla
  • Padma Shri: Olympic gold medallist Neeraj Chopra, Olympians Pramod Bhagat & Vandana Kataria & singer Sonu Nigam.

Singer Sonu Nigam and Olympic gold medallist Neeraj Chopra have been awarded the Padma Shri – the fourth highest honour – along with Jamia Millia Islamia University Vice-Chancellor Najma Akhtar.

According to the Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA), the President approved the conferment of 128 Padma Awards, including two duo cases, this year. In a duo case, the award is counted as one. The list comprises 4 Padma Vibhushan, 17 Padma Bhushan and 107 Padma Shri awards. Thirty-four of the awardees are women and the list also includes 10 persons from the category of Foreigners/NRI/PIO/OCI and 13 posthumous awardees.


Subscribe to our newsletter
Subscribe to our newsletter
Sign up here to get the latest news delivered directly to your inbox.
You can unsubscribe at any time