Delhi-Meerut RRTS to begin operations by March 2030

The government is planning to connect the stations covered under this project with airports, railway stations, metro stations and Interstate Bus Terminus (ISBT).

As reported by News18, one of National Capital Region Transport Corporation’s (NCRTC) prime projects, the preparations for Delhi-Meerut Regional Rapid Transit System (RRTS) are taking place for the operationalization of 17 kilometres stretch of the total 82.15 kilometres long corridor by the month of March, 2023.

A spokesperson has said that the priority section of 17 km between Sahibabad and Duhai is expected to commence by 2023 and the corridor between Delhi and Meerut by 2025. Around 68 kilometres of RRTS project comes under the state of UP.

The Delhi-Meerut RRTS is a joint venture created by the Centre and Uttar Pradesh’s government. NCRTC officials are expecting about 8 lakh regular travellers by the RRTS. The construction work of the project has achieved an advanced stage.

Furthermore, architecture and design work for the 17 km long priority section from Sahibabad to Duhai which covers five stations, namely Sahibabad, Ghaziabad, Guldhar, Duhai and depots of Duhai have been finalized.

According to the officials of RRTS, 24 stations will be constructed along the entire corridor. In the current FY, BJP-led Uttar Pradesh government has invested ₹1,326 crore for the Rapid Rail project.

The stations for RRTS include Sarai Kale Khan, New Ashok Nagar, Anand Vihar, Sahibabad, Ghaziabad, Guldhar, Duhai, Duhai Depot, Muradnagar, Muradnagar Depot, Modi Nagar South, Modi Nagar North, Meerut South, Partapur, Rithani, Shatabdi Nagar, Brahmapuri, Meerut Central, Bhainsali, Begumpul, MES Colony, Daurali Metro, Meerut North and Modipuram.

Subscribe to our newsletter
Subscribe to our newsletter
Sign up here to get the latest news delivered directly to your inbox.
You can unsubscribe at any time