Indian Railways to resume select passenger train services from May 12; Online booking begins today


From May 12, Indian Railways will gradually resume passenger train operations initially with 15 pairs of trains (30 return journeys), according to the national transporter.

These trains will be run as special trains from New Delhi station connecting 15 important cities, including:

• Agartala
• Howrah
• Patna
• Bilaspur
• Ranchi
• Bhubaneswar
• Dibrugarh
• Secunderabad
• Bengaluru
• Madgaon
• Mumbai Central
• Ahmedabad
• Chennai
• Thiruvananthapuram
• Jammu Tawi

Bookings for these trains will start at 4 pm on 11th May, only on the IRCTC website.

It is worth noting that only passengers with valid confirmed tickets will be permitted to enter the railway stations.

Also, passengers have to wear face cover and undergo screening at departure, and only asymptomatic passengers will be allowed to board the train.

Indian Railways