Mumbai, Delhi, Bengaluru ‘red zoned’ by Centre; will have to practice ‘no activity’ even post lockdown

Mumbai, Delhi, Bengaluru ‘red zoned’ by Centre; will have to practice ‘no activity’ even post lockdown

The Union health ministry has split 733 districts pan India into red, orange and green zones, designating all metropolitan cities (Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata, Hyderabad, Bengaluru and Ahmedabad) into the ‘no activity’ zone even after the lockdown ends on May 3.

As per the list, there are 130 red zones, where more stringent restrictions will be implemented even after May 3. However, there will be partial easing in orange zones and liberal easing in green zones.

Uttar Pradesh and Maharashtra have the maximum number of red zones at 19 and 14 respectively, followed by Tamil Nadu at 12 and all of Delhi’s 11 districts have been marked as ‘no activity’ zones.

Among Mumbai’s suburbs, Thane, Palghar and Mumbai suburban have been designated as red zones. Other districts in Maharashtra in this category are Pune, Nashik, Nagpur, Solapur, Yavatmal, Aurangabad, Satara, Dhule, Akola, Jalgaon and Raigad.

In Uttar Pradesh, Delhi’s NCR region, Gautam Buddha Nagar, has been marked as red zone, while Ghaziabad is in the orange category. Other regions include the state capital of Lucknow, Agra, Saharanpur, Kanpur Nagar, Moradabad, Firozabad, Bulandshahr, Meerut, Rae Bareli, Varanasi, Bijnor, Amroha, Sant Kabir Nagar, Aligarh, Muzaffarnagar, Rampur, Mathura and Bareilly.

Delhi’s other NCR, Gurgaon — which comes under Haryana — has been designated as orange zone.

In a series of tweets two days ago, the Union Home Ministry shared that it has held a comprehensive review meeting on the lockdown situation in the country and has analysed that there have been tremendous gains and improvement in the Covid-19 situation due to the lockdown till now.

“New guidelines to fight #COVID19 will come into effect from 4th May, which shall give considerable relaxations to many districts. Details regarding this shall be communicated in the days to come,” the home ministry spokesperson tweeted.

The first guidelines were issued on March 24 immediately after the prime minister announced the lockdown for 21 days. The guidelines, issued under the Disaster Management Act by the Union Home Secretary, specified the people and services exempted from the lockdown.

The Telangana government has already extended the lockdown till May 7 while the Punjab government extended it for two more weeks beyond May 3. Several chief ministers, who attended a meeting convened by the prime minister on Monday, have sought the extension of the lockdown as coronavirus cases continue to rise in the country.

Follow us on Google News

Subscribe to our newsletter
Subscribe to our newsletter
Sign up here to get the latest news delivered directly to your inbox.
You can unsubscribe at any time
You might also like

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More