Kris Gopalakrishnan to be the first chairperson of RBI Hub

Co-founder and former co-chairman of Infosys, Senapathy (Kris) Gopalakrishnan, has been appointed as the first Chairperson of the Reserve Bank Innovation Hub (RBIH).

In August, the apex bank announced that it will set up the Reserve Bank Innovation Hub to encourage innovation across the financial sector by using technology and creating an eco-system that would facilitate foster innovation.


In a statement, on Tuesday, RBI said, “The Reserve Bank has appointed Senapathy (Kris) Gopalakrishnan, co-founder and former co-chairman of Infosys, as the first Chairperson of the RBIH.” He is currently the chief mentor of Start-up village, an incubation hub for start-ups.

The Central Bank said RBIH would be guided and managed by the governing council under the guidance of a Chairperson. The members of the governing council are CEO (yet to be appointed), Ashok Jhunjhunwala (Institute Professor, IIT, Madras), H Krishnamurthy (Principal Research Scientist, IISC, Bengaluru), Gopal Srinivasan (CMD, TVS Capital Funds), A P Hota (Former CEO, NPCI), Mrutyunjay Mahapatra (Former CMD, Syndicate Bank), T Rabi Sankar (Executive Director, RBI), Deepak Kumar (CGM, Department of Information Technology, RBI), and K Nikhila (Director, Institute for Development and Research in Banking Technology, Hyderabad).

RBI said, “The RBIH shall create an eco-system that would focus on promoting access to financial services and products. This will also promote financial inclusion.”

For the exchange of ideas and development of prototypes related to financial innovation, the hub will collaborate with financial sector institutions, the technology industry, and academic institutions. It will help in developing internal infrastructure to promote financial technology research and engage with innovators and start-ups.